Annual Award for Innovative Creation

“Yiannos Kranidiotis”



2013 Takis Hadjidimitriou, is the Greek-Cypriot head of the Technical Committee for the Cultural Heritage. The Committee consists from both Greek-Cypriots and Turkish-Cypriots. The Committees work: Twenty monuments have either been completed or are close to completion. Eleven are being carried out for a two year period and fifteen small projects are underway.
2012 Andreas Mavroyiannis, diplomat, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, former Deputy Minister for European Affairs. He was awarded for his contribution in the preparation, planning, coordination and implementation of the first Cyprus Presidency of the Council of the European Union in the second half of 2012.
2011 Christos Rozakis, academic, former Vice- President of the European Court of Human Rights. European oriented, designer of innovative foreign policy, judge with prestige in Europe, creator of the conditions for the Cyprus accession to the EU.
2009 Michalis Sarris, former Minister of Finance. He was awarded for his contribution for Cyprus accession to the Eurozone, with which Cyprus completed and reinforced its participation in the European family, and for his ability to shape compositions above political party expediencies when pursuing collective goals.
2008 Nikos Themelis, writer. He was awarded because with his writing he became one of the most prestigious writers in contemporary publishing world, while with his silent political activity, as a partner of Costas Simitis, contributed to the Cyprus accession to the EU.
2007 Nikiforos Diamandouros, European Ombudsman. He was awarded for his consistent action to provide to the European citizens more rights and more possibilities through his position as a European Ombudsman.
2006 Michalis Christodoulides, composer. He composed music on Cypriot poetry; he composed music on poems of Cypriot and Greek poets in films. His music recieved  international recognition.
 2005 Andreas Christodoulides, journalist, former Permanent Secretary of Athens News Agency. He was awarded for his active and effective contribution to the progress and development of «liberated» Radio and Television and the consolidation of democracy in Mass Communication in both Cyprus and Greece.
2004 Anna Diamantopoulou, former Commissioner. She was awarded for her overall action towards the promotion of the EU common policies, especially in the field of equality and social policy and cohesion, her active contribution towards enhancing the role of Greece in the European Union and the success of Cyprus’ goal to become an EU member state.
2003 Costas Montis, poet, established Cypriot writer. With his writing he expressed in writing the years of Cyprus’ Independence and the years that followed the invasion in 1974. He was a poet with international recognition.

(Montis was awarded a few weeks before his passing).

2002 Marios Tokas, composer. He was awarded because he was established in the music world and because he included to the quality of its creations, the political sensitivity of his country Cyprus with genuine visions of reconciliation.
2000 Andreas Theofanous- Research and Development Institute  Intercollege

Pambos Papageorgiou – Research Centre Intercollege. They were awarded because with their actions they promote, through their Research Centres, critical thinking and they explore new paths through research

1999 Lefteris Economou, painter. He was awarded for the reach and creative art work.